Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Sims "Wildlife EP"

Expanding the Backpack, 8/31/11

New legally free EP from Sims & Lazerbeak, spread by the grace of the almighty Doomtree newsletter. Their "Bad Time Zoo" album still ranks amongst the best releases of 2011 so far, and while this EP isn't quite living up to that standard of quality, it is more excellent tunes from these talented gents. A few of these songs have been released previously, whether as giveaway MP3s for the "Bad Time Zoo" preorder or as songs promoting the album, but that's not to knock the level of quality here. For the level remains high, as it often does with Doomtree-related releases. The whole EP is damn good, but a special spot in my heart belongs to the song "Jordan 5's," which is just Lazerbeak at his most banging. I still remember when I heard that song playing in the background of some Doomtree interview video, and had to rewind the segment several times just to process how ill it sounded. Glad it's been made available to the public! Tracklisting and stream below. You can download Sims' "Wildlife EP" for free at the Sims Bandcamp Page.

1. The Lighthouse
2. Mad Night
3. Here I Stand
4. The Line
5. Jordan 5's

No comments:

Post a Comment