Friday, January 6, 2012

Proe "Be Brave, Gladiator"

Expanding the Backpack, 1/6/12

Awesome new free digital album from Rec League's very own Proe, entitled "Be Brave, Gladiator." SF's Rec League has been throwing killer shows and putting out good music for a minute now, boasting talented rap types like Richie Cunning and Grip Grand as part of their Bay Area roster. I saw Proe open for Glue with Richie Cunning and DJ MF Shalem at Elbo Room years ago, but hadn't really heard any of his recorded stuff prior to this album. "Be Brave, Gladiator" proves to be quite the introduction, showing off Proe's songwriting and production skills while sounding like a complete album of stand-out cuts. Proe has a very interesting approach to his music, combining left-field pop sensibilities with his strong flow and raw beats. The whole thing sounds professional as hell, and is one of the strongest entries in the Rec League catalog to date in my book. You can download Proe's "Be Brave, Gladiator" for free on Routine Fly's website or via Proe's Bandcamp Page should you feel like making a donation. Or if you're not the downloading type, you can also stream the whole thing under the tracklisting below:

1. All Day
2. City on Fire
3. Cuss By Candlelight
4. Be Brave, Gladiator
5. She's a Cutter
6. Don't Wake the Babies
7. Box Cutter Johnny
8. EVOLution
9. Come Sunday
10. The Worst
11. So Last Year
12. Don't Wake the Babies (Remix)

No comments:

Post a Comment