Thursday, January 12, 2012

Jonti "Sine & Moon (The Album)"

Expanding the Backpack, 1/12/12

New free album from the quirky Australian producer Jonti, featuring lots of dope beats and interesting off-kilter melodies. I didn't have a chance to cover Jonti's excellent Stones Throw debut "Twirligig" from last year on this blog, but it stood out to me as one of the more interesting electronic releases of 2011 and got a fair amount of rotation from my end. "Sine & Moon (The Album)" features mostly new (or old and unreleased) songs from Jonti with a few alternative takes of "Twirligig" tracks, and while it isn't mastered as well as his debut, there are definitely some gems on this freebie. Personal favorites include the gorgeous instrumental "Flesh Of Morning" and the simple sparse pop music of "Saturday Night Songs." Apparently, Jonti has a new official album "Tokorats" dropping on Stones Throw in the first quarter of 2012 as well. Keeping things busy in the beat scene down under, apparently. For now, you can download "Sine & Moon (The Album)" for free via Stones Throw's website Pretty tunes.

1. Saturday Night Songs
2. Red On Green
3. Confused Birds
4. Nagoya Train Station 3 AM
5. Nightshift in Blue (Alternative Version)
6. Koi Moon's Daughter Pt. II
7. By This Shore
8. Flesh of Morning
9. Lost Machines
10. Young Wildebeest
11. Nagoya Interlude
12. Moon Goddess
13. Sugar High
14. Lovers Stone (Alternative Passaros)
15. Vendas Newly Won Dream (Bonus Track)

No comments:

Post a Comment